All posts filed under “IglooMag

Reviews published by the IglooMag website at

comment 0

Touch – Review Three Pack

Touch has long been a label that embraces experimental electronic music by an array of respected musicians, many who have released material over an extended period of time through the label. Resplendent in founder Jon Wozencroft’s distinctive sleeve designs, Touch is always mindful of quality both aesthetically and musically, Touch continues to deliver the best in experimental electronic listening music that is high in concept and creativity.

comment 0

Tympanik Audio – Review Three Pack

At the beginning of last year, Tympanik Audio opened their annual release schedule with a clutch of releases in the form of ESA’s remix collection, a new Displacer album and free to download MP3 EP also from Displacer. Despite significant changes in musical retail in recent years Tympanik Audio have successfully managed to maintain their popularity with a regular release schedule (mostly on physical formats) and a strong stable of both new and established artists.

comment 0

Access To Arasaka – void()

[CD, Tympanik Audio]

With an avid interest in all things visionary and listing amongst his influences the American writer William Gibson and Russian film director Andrei Tarkovsky, 25 year old New Yorker Rob Lioy (aka Access To Arasaka) named his project after an evil corporation in the cyberpunk related card game Netrunner.

Self-releasing an album and several EPs (that are still available) through his own website and an album and EP through net label Illphabetik, Lioy made his debut with a joint release for acclaimed US label Tympanik Audio and the now sadly defunct Greek label Spectraliquid with Oppidan in 2009. The album took its name from a building in an as yet unfinished story, written by Lioy, that won him wide praise from the music press and fans worldwide. For his second album, Lioy again draws on his passion for all things futuristic and bases void() on the concept of system hacking from it’s roots to the distant future with a sonic interpretation of what an electronic system might feel when subjected to such an attack.

comment 0

Mothboy – Yield EP

[Digital, Drawn Recordings]

Early in the New Year, a new label based in Bristol (UK) releases their first full artist release.  Having already released a free label compilation through their website (still available) their first output is the final release by London-based artist Simon Smerdon, otherwise known as Mothboy.

comment 0

Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson (1955-2010)

On 13th November 2004 the Coil website at Threshold House went pure black; no links or anything, just black.  Something was happening.  Later that day the news broke that John Balance, the lyricist and frontman of the band, had tragically passed away following an accident at his Weston-Super-Mare home in the UK.

On November 25th 2010 – Thanksgiving Day in the USA – the Threshold House website once again turned black.  Chris Carter, a close friend and bandmate of Christopherson in the legendary band Throbbing Gristle, broke the news via his personal Twitter account.  Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson had died peacefully in his sleep during the early hours of the previous night.

comment 0

cliffordandcalix – Lost Foundling 1999-2004

[CD, Aperture]

cliffordandcalix is the duo of Mark Clifford and Chantal Passamonte. Both Warp artists, Clifford is best known as a founder member of Seefeel who have released records on Warp, Too Pure and Rephlex Records and who have recently reunited to record new material; Passamonte has released five albums for Warp Records in the guise of Mira Calix.

comment 0

Mille Plateaux – Review Three Pack

After lying dormant for several years Mille Plateaux makes and an unexpected but welcome return to the fray. Following an ill-fated attempt to resurrect the label in 2004 finally fizzled out in 2006 it seemed the label was gone for good until news started to circulate that the label would be re-launching again in mid-2010. This time with a more focused and defined plan of action, Mille Plateaux returns with several new artist releases and a new volume in the popular Clicks & Cuts series entitled Clicks & Cuts 5: Paradigm Shift which revisits a genre the label originally championed with three stellar big name compilations between 2000 and 2002.

comment 0

Dissolved – Symbiotic Colouration

[Ltd CDR, Binkcrsh]

Glaswegian Paul Daniels’ solo project Dissolved has appeared on various netlabels since 2003 and although he only really began regularly releasing material around 2005 he has since become increasingly prolific with his output.  He has released material on a range of formats from freely downloadable MP3 albums and EPs to small run cassette, CDR and CD releases on a wide range of labels and through his own website.  Symbiotic Colouration is a compilation of tracks, some new and some previously released on cassette, almost all of which have never been released on CD before.  Mastered at Metarc, the compilation is released as a very limited run CDR by Binkcrsh, a label perhaps better known for its free netlabel output than for its physical releases.

comment 0

Various Artists – MMX


In the opening days of 2010 Californian label n5MD released a free MP3 collection of tracks drawn from their forthcoming release schedule.  Released in conjunction with Bandcamp and exclusively available through the n5MD page on the Bandcamp website, MMX – the Roman numeral equivalent of 2010 – is the first in a series of label samplers to be released through the partnership.

Featuring one track from each of their upcoming releases for the year, MMX is a teaser of what to expect from their roster of new and long-standing artists, all of whom continue to develop their sound or introduce themselves to fans of the label.

comment 0

DJ Hidden – The Words Below

[CD + 12” singles, Ad Noiseam]

Although he already had an impressive back catalogue of 12 inch singles to his name, 2007’s The Later After was Noel Wessels debut album and his first release as DJ Hidden for acclaimed German label Ad Noiseam. After the reception his debut received, the label has supported his follow-up album, The Words Below, by issuing a series of three 12 inch singles entitled The Words Below Limited Edition Vinyl Series Parts 1-3. Containing slightly different versions of tracks from the album, the first two singles hold three tracks each while the third contains two exclusive new remixes; “The Narrators” remixed by Wessels’ Outside Agency cohort Frank Nitzinsky and ‘DJ Hidden’s Other Side Remix’ of “The Devil’s Instant” by Wessels himself.